Detox: Day 10 – Be Prepared

I’ve officially entered into the double digits of my 27 day cleanse. The last few days were a breeze! It’s amazing to me how quickly you can re-adjust and develop a new habit (provided that you are open to it).

The first few days were difficult but now, I no longer have any cravings, my mood is much better (even on days like today when I’m tired) and I find that I have more energy. I think the running has been helping too, so I’ll definitely try to stick with it as much as I can.

The main challenge of the detox is the preparation. It’s SO important to make sure that you are always stocked up on meats/alternatives, veggies, fruits, rice/rice pasta and whatever else you need.  I read in Caroline Sutherland’s book, “The Body Knows” that you should always try to have about 3 days worth of food in your cupboards. For me, that’s not always possible, BUT I always keep a mental inventory of what I have in my cupboards and fridge and I make sure that I reserve enough time in my schedule to pick up what I need. Otherwise, if you’re hungry and you feel too impatient to prepare something, then the temptation is there to get take-out and possibly deter your whole detox by ordering something naughty.

If you do go out and you know what restaurant you’ll be going to, a trick is to look online at the menu (if it’s available) beforehand and see what your options are. That way, if you’re anything like me, you won’t be himming and hawing for 20 minutes trying to make a decision.

Watch out for salads! Some may seem like a healthy choice but not if they’re laden with cheese, creamy dressings, battered chicken/fish or caramelized nuts (among other things – but those are the ones that come to mind). Instead, try to stick to simpler ingredients and request balsamic vinaigrette or even some oil and lemon on the side. Trust me, you won’t even miss the regular salad dressings since these options bring out the natural flavour of the fresh veggies and other ingredients your salad. Plus, if you adopt this habit at home, think of all the money you’ll be saving, not to mention saving your body from the nasty additives, preservatives and chemicals found in commercial dressings. Don’t believe me? Take a look at the ingredients’ list on your favourite dressing 😉

What about you, what tips do you have when you go to a restaurant or eat out and you want to make a healthy choice?

Leave a Reply

