Detox: Day 5 and (starting) to feel more alive!

Well…it’s day five of the detox and I have to say that it felt nice to have a lot more energy on a Saturday. This winter, I really dragged my feet and spent a lot of time in front of the TV. Not good. No wonder those pounds crept on me. Anyways, I’m getting back on track with eating better and today, for the second day in a row, I went for a run. I know – craziness! But I’m determined to get into shape especially since I’ll be going to Florida at the end of March and I’ll probably be wearing a bathing suit for more than half the time (if all goes to plan, anyways).

My biggest downfall is that I get really super excited about something, jump in head first and bite off more than I can chew only to get burnt out before I see any real results and then quit. SO this time, I’m going to go a bit slower. At first, I wanted to run every day until March 22nd. That’s realistic, right? Talk about putting a lot of pressure on myself! I decided, after some more thought, that this is not a realistic goal. Instead, I will run 5 days a week (Sundays and Thursdays off) for at least 15 minutes each time. Eventually, I’ll be able to build up my time and speed but this is definitely a good start. Something is always better than nothing!

To reward myself after my newfound workouts, I make a berry smoothie with soy milk (I found this one – no sugar added and organic), coconut water, frozen mixed berries (berries have the lowest glycemic index, i.e. less sugar, than other fruits) and a quarter of an avocado (to thicken it up). Plus, the oil in the avocado help to absorb all of the nutrients in the other ingredients.

Not a fan of avocados? You could add a tablespoon of hemp oil or flax oil.

Tomorrow, I’m taking a break and hopefully I’ll be able to finish some of that housework that keeps staring at me….

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Detox: Day 5 and (starting) to feel more alive!

Leave a Reply

