Easy, peasy, lemon squeezy!

Today was one of those impossible lazy Sundays where for the first time in, I don’t know how long, I slept in past noon, watched reruns of The Simpsons and old chick flicks on the movie network while snacking and sipping on tea. In short: Heaven.

Around 4:30pm, I decided that since there is no way in hell I’d be doing anything overly productive for the rest of the day, I should at least make dinner. On the menu was butternut squash soup, to start and then roasted lamb cooked in a wine sauce.

I read in one of the recipes online that in order for lamb to be tender and “fall off the bone” it should cook for at least 3 hours … so I decided to get up off the couch and get my act together.  This proved to be a bit less difficult than I had anticipated, which is always a bonus especially since I had torn a muscle in my back last week and was relieved to find that the pinching and burning pain has subsided.  Looks like all the wine I drank over the weekend … I mean, all of the stretching and icing paid off. Thank the Lord! Nothing like a spazzing muscle in your back to hold back your plans of laundry and cleaning. In a way, I’m thankful for the excuse to rest and to do as little as possible for a couple of days.

Here’s the lamb cooking in the crock pot (God, I love this thing – what a lifesaver!):

Here it is after:

 

Trust me, it was even more delicious than it looks! The wine and the spices fused with the juice of the lamb was so savoury…and the onions and tomatoes were so tender and juicy that combined with pieces of the lamb, was like an explosion of flavour in my mouth. So amazing! I had some leftover brown rice that I served with it – but this would also be amazing with some sprouted grain bread, quinoa or even over mashed potatoes.

Lamb Shoulders in Red Wine Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 lamb shoulders
  • 1 cup of red wine (cabernet sauvignon)
  • 2 cups of water
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 romano tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp of thyme
  • 1/2 tsp of rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp of salt

Method

The reason why I love slow cookers or crock pots, is that it’s a no brainer way to cook. There’s really only step – put all ingredients into the slow cooker and cook on high for 2 hours and then turn it down to low for the last hour or so.

Serves 2.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

