Just left of leftovers.

What’s so great about leftovers? Especially a mish-mash of veggies sitting in your fridge that don’t quite fit into any other recipe?

You know what?

What?

They’re great for making soup!

The other day, when I was looking through my fridge, I noticed that I had about a handful of spinach, half of a head of cauliflower and a half a bag of baby carrots that weren’t going to eat themselves and I couuldn’t think for the life of me what I could use these for. Then it hit me…I decided to get creative and make a soup out of them. Yes! Genius! I know it’s about 40c here, BUT I couldn’t let these go to waste and it’s SO easy to make soup. Plus, I’m feeling pretty confident these days about my mad cooking skillz so I decided to try out my very own original recipe (though I’m sure someone has made this at some point in time). Anyways, it was easy, and delicious!

If you love creamy soups with a bit of kick, then this will totally be up your alley.

Ingredients:

  • ½ head of cauliflower
  • 1 cup of baby carrots
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 1 TBSP of chopped ginger
  • 1 TBSP of chopped jalapeno pepper (don’t feel pressure if you don’t like it hot)
  • 1/3 TSP of all spice
  • 1/3 TSP of paprika
  • A pinch of salt or salt to taste
  • 1 cup veg broth or enough to add consistency
  • A dollop of goat cheese (optional, but amazing!)

Method:

  1. Steam the cauliflower, carrots, ginger and jalapeno pepper until soft. Test it by sticking a fork in the carrots and cauliflower.
  2. Add some of the steamed veggies, the spinach and spices to a blender. Slowly add the veggie broth to blend. Slowly add broth and veggies until all ingredients are mixed.
  3. This will be a hot soup, so make sure that your blender or food processor can handle the heat.
  4. Serve immediately and add that dollop of goat cheese and mix it in the soup.

TIP: Freeze extra portions for later!

Serving: Makes about 4-6 cups.

Time: However long it takes to steam your veggies plus 10 minutes of blending.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Just left of leftovers.

Leave a Reply

